Ready, set, go?

Welcome to Bit Fit, Bit Funny.

What’s this then?

  • The 10-second version

I’m a runner and a stand-up comic and I have too many thoughts on these things to keep them just in my head.

  • The minute-long version

I’ve been running (properly) for 14 years-ish, and doing stand-up comedy for one year. I’ve been meaning to launch my podcast (talking to funny people about fitness n stuff) for, like, a year. Finally I managed to get off NiallHoranTok long enough to actually do so. And this blogletter (just made that up) sort of runs parallel to that, just like the 25-minute pacer at parkrun does for me. When there’s pacers and I didn’t go out the night before.

Great, so who is this blogletter [still not sure] for?

Do you like comedy? Or do you have a passing interest in the machinations of the open mic circuit in the UK? Or are you into running? Or do you like hearing comedians-slash-other-funny-people using fitness (“n stuff”) as a thinly-veiled way to get into some class anecdotes? Or are you my Dad? If so, it’s for you.

So, what do you want from me?

Subscribe to this newsletter. Subscribe to the podcast (then listen to it). Tell your friends. And your enemies. And that one woman you met at a wedding five years ago and inexplicably still follow on Instagram and now you know her kids’ names, her husband’s preferred meal delivery service and what she had for brunch yesterday.

And what can I expect?

Read about/listen to me as I simultaneously try to nurture a thriving? tepid? stand-up comedy career whilst trying to complete the World Marathon Majors. (Depending on when you read this I’ll either be 50% or 66.66* of the way through the latter.) And there’ll be guests! Loadsa guests! Magic Radio Drivetime’s Tom Price! Running Commentary and UK stand-up comedy’s Rob Deering! They Like To Watch’s and general radio legend Geoff Lloyd! WOMEN! I promise there’ll be some women too! Anyone know any?